The Impossible Dream

Today was the day I got a tour through the building of Impossible, the company that revived Polaroid film. As my grandfather worked for Polaroid in Enschede most of his working life it felt a bit like tracking down the history lane. I even spoke with someone who had known him as a bunch of old Polaroid employers have been part of the Impossible project also. 

So seeing the factory and how it was made was really interesting. I had learned a lot of it already and even in more detail than what they were able to tell today from the book “A Triumph of Genius”. It was nice to see all in front of you though. Not everyone is able to understand the technical part from a book, especially when it is in another language so visualizing it is key for some people.

Also we got to test the new Impossible I-1 camera. I really enjoyed that even though I would love to test it a bit longer still. But more people were on it, so fair share.
Shall give you a little review.

What I liked about this camera:
Tripod connection on it (I could imagine using this camera with a pistol grip very well)

What I liked less about it:

The viewfinder.
It is hard to use thinking this camera should be easy to use in vain of Polaroid cams. Also the flip up thing looks fragile and it does not have a cap to put over it or sth to protect it while you carry the camera in your bag. It’s the type of came you swing along at a fun day out, a festival maybe… so when you dont want to carry bulky photobags along.

The app.
Well, more the fact that it is not available for android and windows yet. Without it, you can only use the auto modus and I am kind of… not even knowing if my other camera’s have a automatic modus as Im an all manual photographer. So it stings when you cant use the full functionalities and get the most out of your camera just because of that.

Strangely enough, the built-in battery.
The idea is great, but Im worried that Im gonna walk around with powerbanks now to keep it charged at all times… when Im on it, Im on it usually.

So I think for a first camera, it is actually a great one. It obviously will need some development and I am looking forward how future models keep up with the points above.
Let’s now see some light situations I got to test to see how that auto modus does its job.

I-1 test

Left-top you see a photo in which I set a strip light on the left side of the model to see how it handles hard shadows. The ringflash autocorrects and puts more power to darker sides. I am positively surprised, it did really well. You still see a bit but compared to how it looked in real, the camera did excellent.

Right top I wanted to test it a bit close to the model, a white wall next to it to see how the camera deals with reflections of light. (only natural lights used besides the ringflash)

Left bottom: Wanted to look at the effects form a bit more distance. Used striplight from left side
Right bottom: Same scene, unfortunately a bit shifted by an inpatient other tester. Here I used only natural light besides the ringflash.

Im sure when the app would be available on all platforms I would be interested in having this camera, now it is just a nice toy but maybe a bit too much money for what I could do with it without the app. I see options for the future though, especially in education people about photography, interns etc.. yes, in a studio this thing could be used in many ways as well as taking it on the road.